Vanita Oelschlager – Ivy in Bloom | Review

511pn9dd79l-_sx384_bo1204203200_When wandering through NetGalley I stumbled upon a quite cute looking little book. Upon getting it I was immediately keen on reading it. As I put aside the book I was previously reading and opened Ivy in Bloom, I entered into an another world. I immensely enjoy poetry, but my preferences are very narrow, I am very hard to please. So to honest I did not think I would love or even like Ivy in Bloom.

I was wrong.

Ivy in Bloom: The Poetry of Spring from Great Poets and Writers from the Past created by Vanita Oelschlager is a great way of introducing classical poetry to children since it features lines from many poems by some of the greatest writers throughout history, such as E. E. Cummings, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Emily Dickinson, Walt Whitman, Robert Frost, Charles Dickens and many more.Print Body

But that is not all this charming book offers – pages are covered in lovely illustrations by Kristin Blackwood. They tell a story of a young girl enjoying the winter and in the end spring. The poetry and the illustrations show us very vividly her emotions and make this book even more enjoyable.

About La Valentinois

Goddess. Reader. Writer. Poet. Gemini. Hedonist. La Valentinois.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

