The Princess Saves Herself in this One is a poetry collection written by Amanda Lovelace. 517bf26ijplWe follow her through four sections named:

  • I the princess
  • II the damsel
  • III the queen
  • IV you

Each section describes her growing up and the evolution of her feelings towards the people in her life, especially her mother and her first love, a man she calls the Dragon.

The Princess Saves Herself in this One made my eyes fill with tears. I really felt everything that was happening in almost all the poems. I loved that because I rarely connect so well with poems. Do not get me wrong, I adore poetry, it is just that I am very picky with the poetry that makes me tremble – at moments I trembled when I read this.
The section I liked the most are II the damsel and III the queen. I connected most to those two sections. The section I slightly disliked the last one, IV you. I feel a bit disconnected from it. It was quite different from the previous ones and even a bit political. I hate when art suggests politics so strongly. It loses its beauty.

“…i am
far too
young
to be so
goddamn
broken…

~ what was the point?

This is a part of a poem in the second section, II the damsel. It is so beautiful, and the whole poem was so strong, in meaning and in the sound of it.

One other poem I really liked is from the third section, III the queen. It made me feel so much in one fleeting moment.

“i am so glad
we were born
during the same
lifetime.

~ i may not believe in fate, but i believe in you

There is some controversy concerning the fact that many people believe that the poems inside The Princess Saves Herself in this One are not really poems, merely words written by pressing enter after each one. I cannot completely agree, nor I disagree. I think what is more important than the fact that the author Amanda Lovelace does not have the same genius in writing poetry as William Shakespeare, Francesco Petrarca Petrarch or Robert Frost, is the strong message she sends through her poems. The writing perhaps was not mind-blowing, but my heart felt every word.

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

