Tiffany Reisz – The Red | Review

thered-cover-ebook-v2

The Red is an erotica, romance novel by Tiffany Reisz.

The Red follows a story od Mona Lisa St. James. It starts in medias res – Mona is in deep debt and on the verge of selling her art gallery called The Red when a mysterious stranger in a well fitted suit appears in the gallery late at night and gives her the most ungentlemanlike proposal.
We than follow Mona into some of the most surreal situations which are almost all the time borderline supernatural and quite unreal.

At first, I must admit, I was quite judgy and quick to condemn this book to a low rating and with it a very negative review. However, as I sinked deeper and deeper into the story I found myself quite fond of the characters and interested in their fates.
I like to joke about this book that “I came for the smut (pun not intended), but stayed for the art history references”. That is not untrue. I must say, this was some of the best written smut I have read lately. But what I simply cannot oversee is the fact that I have read so much about art history is such and unlikely book. I love it, I really do. That is for me the thing that takes this book to a higher level than other erotica books.

This of course is not a book about which I can have a long post describing the amazing writing or similar, we are all aware of that. Anyhow, I must say I find the main plot quite interesting. Even if we excluded the whole sexual plotline the story of Mona and her art gallery The Red is exceptionally interesting. I really recommend this light and sexy read!

I received this book in exchange for an honest review.

About La Valentinois

Goddess. Reader. Writer. Poet. Gemini. Hedonist. La Valentinois.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

