Maggie Chase – His Crown Jewel | Review

crownjewelamz-200x300His Crown Jewel is a historical romance written by Maggie Chase. It tells the story of the notorious madam Mistress, Emily Weatherspoon who is still in love with her first love Cyrus Franklin. When Cyrus suddenly appears in Brimstone where Emily’s brothel is located many heads turn their way waiting for new juicy gossip.

I really did not enjoy this novel one bit. I tried and forced myself to finish it, but I simply could not. I came to the middle of the novel and then I decided I simply did not want to waste any more time not enjoying myself.
The writing itself is not bad, nor are the characters badly written. It is simply that the plot has so much unaccomplished potential. I found this book rather boring, I really do not want to seem harsh, but I really did not like it one bit.

One thing that really bothered me about this book is the morality of the main character – Emily Weatherspoon. She simply cannot shut up about equality between people. Do not get me wrong, I am all for equality, but this damn woman simply will not shut up about it. She speaks about all the time, she thinks about it all the time. Come on, woman. Have some fun, you own a brothel for god’s sake!
I have nothing more to say. I am really disappointed.

I received this book in exchange for a review.

About La Valentinois

Goddess. Reader. Writer. Poet. Gemini. Hedonist. La Valentinois.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

