Robin Sloan – Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore | Review

811wt2-ud8lMr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore is a gripping mystery written by Robin Sloan. The main character Clay Jannon finds himself unemployed and through a sequence of events, almost as if the universe itself wanted it so, he finds a job in a mysterious bookshop owned by an intriguing old man named Ajax Penumbra. We than follow Clay as he discovers secrets of the bookshop and some buried much deeper than books under a veil of dust.

I enjoyed Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore immensely! I read it in one sitting any was very eager to find out the secret that held the whole book together. I cannot name a favourite character since many of them were very interesting, but a character that I became most fond of is Ajax Penumbra. I believe his to be really quite multidimensional and even now, having finished the book I feel as if he is still a mystery. And I like that very much.symbol
However, even though I really enjoyed most of this book I was quite discontented with the amount of plot that was taken by technological terms and the fact that technology played such an important role in this book. But that is just my opinion.

One more thing I would like to mention is the cover of this book which I find really cool. It glows in the dark, I mean, is that not fantastic?

About La Valentinois

Goddess. Reader. Writer. Poet. Gemini. Hedonist. La Valentinois.
This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What is your opinion?

